Cabin envy: garden shed

In our last house we inherited a garden shed and when we investigated we found countless jam jars of screws and nails plus post war garden tools and implements. I still have the watering cans but left the shed and tools in extremely capable hands.

I love this picture from The Potting Shed, it sums up all that I think a garden shed should be. If you click on the link here there are details of the plans that were drawn up for this potting shed, the neatness of the inside and the precision to detail.  My favourite cabin envy s are usually rough and ready, I like something looking lived in and sometimes ‘put together’ but this ticks so many boxes too. I no longer have a garden shed but have an allotment shed which is literally falling down and nothing has a place but, when the allotments change hands down here, they clear the sheds and any tools get sold at ‘silly’ prices, so I’m happy to say that I’ve got back some old fashioned hoes for a £1 each to add to my watering cans.

About Ruth

I am an actor and theatre maker, I moved down to the SW of England 17 years ago with my partner and son. Five years ago we bought a chalet on the Rame Peninsula and are fully embracing life of the cliff.
This entry was posted in Cabins, home and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

