shepherds huts

So the Olympic torch made it’s way through Cornwall on Saturday bypassing our forgotten corner but hopping on the Torpoint ferry would get you a great view just on the other side of the Tamar. The flame was due to come alongside the Naval base and pass through Devonport and I said to Mad Friend, ‘what are we doing for the torch’!  so she decided to put on an impromtu barbeque and friends got busy baking really yummy brownies and cakes.

all decked out

contributions to the grill

medals were given out

we trundled down to the local park where the grass naturally slopes down to the roadside, creating a perfect viewing point.

the torch passed by just as dusk fell creating a perfect light to let the flame shine out.

Now this week it’s the Chelsea Flower Show and as it seems there’s a fascination with shepherd’s huts, showman’s wagons and the like (I note many people read my previous post regarding huts and trailers,) I thought I’d mention these guys below

I  came across this site which repairs shepherds huts and builds reproduction ones and one of their huts will be within a show garden at the Flower Show this week – the Plankbridge Shepherd’s Hut Show Garden to be precise. I love the opening paragraph on their website (below) it certainly makes me want to read more and I shall be watching the television coverage of the flower show hoping to get a peak of the hut.

Waney edge timber clad Verderer’s hut, delivered to the New ForestHut in Plankbridge Green delivered to Lincolnshire

The Plankbridge story

“Our story begins in the year 2000 with an old, very decayed shepherd’s hut on a drover’s road leading from Waterston to Higher Bockhampton in Dorset, where Thomas Hardy was born. We, Richard Lee and Jane Dennison, would often wander up the track to walk the dogs and would stop and admire the hut. It is very likely that Hardy himself would have walked past that hut. “

About Ruth

I am an actor and theatre maker, I moved down to the SW of England 20 years ago with my partner and son. Ten years ago we bought a chalet on the Rame Peninsula and are fully embracing life of the cliff.
This entry was posted in festivals, home, Home. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment