RWY festival

I’ve been busy taking trips to Falmouth on work matters so this inaugural Festival in the Royal William Yard passed me by until yesterday, when I was unable to go. A shame because I love the route to the Yard, it takes me right across Cornwall’s forgotten corner.

20131031_083028

From the chalet I would link to the B3247 just right of Crafthole on the map above and head east towards Millbrook, in line with the bay. Then coming out of Millbrook I would bypass the villages of Kingsand and Cawsand and head north, taking me past Maker Heights and onto Mount Edgecombe to quite literally, the end of the road (the brown line on the sandy coloured bit, it takes me 10 minutes). This is Cremyll, here I would park and jump on a small foot ferry that would take me across the river to the other side (the pink bit) where the Royal William Yard is situated. This river separates Devon from Cornwall and there is a toll to pay, oh yes, to enter Devon from Cornwall across the river, be it on foot ferry (from Cremyll), car ferry (from Torpoint) or bridge (from Saltash) there is a charge. But it’s such a delightful way to travel and once on the other side you are happy that you’ve parked across the water and are not having to negotiate the parking that the Royal William Yard creates when there’s an event on.

Mind you had I taken that route on the Sunday I would have driven alongside Mount Edgecombe and noted that there was a Green Man weekend. Everything that goes alongside a spot of mythology and ancient culture like hog roasts and wood carving, music, dancing and beer…I mean whats not to like. If that had happened, I may never of made it across the water and would be better of for not paying my toll.

 

About Ruth

I am an actor and theatre maker, I moved down to the SW of England 17 years ago with my partner and son. Five years ago we bought a chalet on the Rame Peninsula and are fully embracing life of the cliff.
This entry was posted in festivals, home, Travel, Whitsand bay and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

