Fav summer things

 

So schools are back and the weather is erratic yet we are expecting some warm humid air still to come in from North Africa. A couple of weeks back we spent five very warm and humid days at the Edinburgh Festival where we were crammed into cellars, attics and containers with no air conditioning and we watched performers loose their own body weight in sweat. I look back on my summer of outdoor events, so many lovely days and nights with a gladdened heart; I would much rather place a blanket around my shoulders outside than hit a wall of sub-tropical heat as you walk into a venue at 10pm. I have been to a mixture of village fetes and large scale festivals to outdoor Shakespeare at the Royal William Yard in Plymouth, but my favourite summer fare was Fup, a lovely show by Kneehigh and O Region with the most expressive duck puppet. We also spent a few mornings up at Maker Canteen eating their magnificent breakfasts and an amazing Sunday Lunch plus I love the view from their window of seed heads against the corrugated walls of the old nissan huts. Eating modern fresh cooking inside an old historical building is such a good match. But, now its all over and we have to wait for another year…although…hmmm, I think there’s some outdoor cinema at Royal William Yard again, so I will be getting the blankets out and hoping for an Indian summer.

Photo of Fup by John Cannon (festival buddy and chalet guest)

About Ruth

I am an actor and theatre maker, I moved down to the SW of England 17 years ago with my partner and son. Five years ago we bought a chalet on the Rame Peninsula and are fully embracing life of the cliff.
This entry was posted in festivals, home, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

