Gravel garden tidy

 

I’ve been able to have a real good tidy up in the back garden. I was given two chalet gifts which were a couple of Aeoniums both with local names, the green one is Cornish Tribute and the dark one…Poldark…of course. I potted them up and placed by the back door. This year I have left the back garden to itself and all kinds of plants and flowers have emerged. In amongst that top picture are grasses and thistles and geraniums, all of which are prolific self seeders, yet some performed better than others and some towered over others so that the ones that couldn’t cope are hiding and sun depraved. So I put a day aside to take it in hand. I dug up a grass that was in the middle fighting for space and placed it in a pot to come back to life (no picture until it’s better, it really is just a lot of brown spiky leaves at the moment but with green shoots coming). I placed a buoy in the gap and then tidied up the rest cutting back the plants that had flowered and were now a little bit over. The thistle proved hard and spiky -I marvelled at how it attracted butterflies and bees yet they didn’t stab themselves to death on its sharp needles; I got seriously stabbed. The problem for me and for the future is once the thistle flower goes to seed, boy does it go to seed and they were carpeting the gravel and catching in the cobwebs on the back of the chalet. I am going to have to be vigilant to stop more coming up and I am most certainly going to have to wear gloves.

 

About Ruth

I am an actor and theatre maker, I moved down to the SW of England 17 years ago with my partner and son. Five years ago we bought a chalet on the Rame Peninsula and are fully embracing life of the cliff.
This entry was posted in home, Sea Field View, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

