In Cornwall Today

IMG_0567

On a warm sunny day a few weeks ago writer Jackie Butler came to visit the chalet and we sat and drank tea and chatted about our favourite Cornish things and worked out all the people we knew in common. Jackie was writing an article for Cornwall Today about Sea Field View; how the view from the chalet and the peace and quiet are an inspiration for creating my work. So today I headed into Torpoint and collected a copy (the July issue) to check out the article with the photos that Jackie had taken when she was here. Whilst looking through it I got hooked on the articles, the best of the Cornish summer festivals (Port Elliot being one of my favourites); best open air theatre (I have already highlighted the Asylum as the place to be this summer with friends), plus gardens, wildlife, interiors, visual art, and… recipes too – there’s a really yummy looking picture of a smoothie covered in meringue and cream and coconut and honey.

I also noticed that the renovation of the local pub in Anthony, the old Ring O Bells, is re opening in July as The Carew Arms, so that’ll be another place to check out.

In fact the whole issue is packed full of summer info so I’m now going to put the kettle on and put my feet up with my copy.

IMG_0568

Port Elliot Festival, 28th 31st July: St Germans, Cornwall http://porteliotfestival.com

Kneehigh Asylum 14th July – 28th August: the Lost Gardens of Heligan http://www.kneehigh.co.uk/page/the_asylum_kneehigh.php

The Carew Arms, Anthony East Cornwall: opening 14th July  http://carewarms.com

 

About Ruth

I am an actor and theatre maker, I moved down to the SW of England 17 years ago with my partner and son. Five years ago we bought a chalet on the Rame Peninsula and are fully embracing life of the cliff.
This entry was posted in home, Sea Field View and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to In Cornwall Today

  1. Jody says:

    Fabulous! I’m going to search around to see if I can read the article online. Congratulations to you!

  2. wildsherkin says:

    How lovely! I would really like to read the feature. Patsy

Leave a Reply

