The View in Winter

Last week me and him indoors celebrated a large anniversary so, we decided to brave the weather and head down to our favourite restaurant with teenage son. Situated on the cliff at the part of Whitsand Bay they call Trenninow, The View is a ‘special’  local restaurant, it sources food locally and the cooking is sublime.

IMG_0048

We have dined here before but usually in the summer when you can drink in the view that gives the place its name. We are succours for the scallops and any risotto they serve up so him indoors had the seared scallops as a first course and I had the grilled haddock lemon and parmesan risotto. I could have just kept on eating it, in fact a man on the table behind ordered the risotto as a main course and… oh, how I wish I had done that…

IMG_0050

There’s something about risotto that is comforting for me, maybe the texture of the rice is reminiscent of the rice puddings of my youth because one thing I do know is I certainly didn’t eat risotto growing up in Yorkshire.

IMG_0051

On a wet windy winter night it was gloriously comforting.

Over the winter The View have reduced opening hours so its always a safe bet to phone in advance. See below for more info and check out their set price lunches, such excellent value, plus at lunchtime you still have the view, what’s not to like!

IMG_0056

About Ruth

I am an actor and theatre maker, I moved down to the SW of England 17 years ago with my partner and son. Five years ago we bought a chalet on the Rame Peninsula and are fully embracing life of the cliff.
This entry was posted in home, Whitsand bay and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The View in Winter

  1. Mad friend says:

    Love The View had my birthday meal there last year. Beautiful foo and beautiful view, like it says on the tin !

Leave a Reply

