Easter Weekend

Its been a great few days at the chalet (although as I write the rain has come in). We arrived to blue skies and straight away got to work on the garden. You may notice in the picture below that I’ve had to tie the palm both sides to secure it from winds in all directions. Its looking very sorry for itself but we are keeping optimistic.

20140419_123423

You can see below that a lot of the older leaves are looking stressed (yellow) and weather beaten (split) but the new growth – and I do think there is new growth – is looking good (but what do I know).

20140418_113743

I promise I wont post anymore pictures of palm in distress but will certainly let you know if a full recovery happens.

20140418_130238

Once the garden had been tended and weeded I could get all the bedding washed and out on the line. That has to be one of my all time favourite smells, getting into a bed when the linen has been dried outside. Once it was all out I sat on the driftwood bench in the back with a cup of tea letting the sun warm my face. Then we headed for the beach and I took some photos of the Freathy wreak that has been exposed since the winter storms, which to be honest is a whole blog in itself so I will upload them and post in a couple of days.

Yesterday was the Freathy Easter Fair and some excellent scones and cream were eaten. Stalls were inspected for bric a brac and I bought a walking stick for 50p, not because I need it but you never know it will be helpful for climbing up the cliff some day. I also bought a tub of wild flower seeds collected from locally grown plants to plant in the newly tended garden. There was a tombola and an auction and best of all an Easter bonnet parade. Here they are putting on the final touches

20140419_145317

We barbequed a huge piece of pork, drank a glass of Sauvignon blanc and watched the sun go down (very quickly) on the horizon. Hope everyone is having a great holiday weekend.

20140418_201203

About Ruth

I am an actor and theatre maker, I moved down to the SW of England 17 years ago with my partner and son. Five years ago we bought a chalet on the Rame Peninsula and are fully embracing life of the cliff.
This entry was posted in holidays, home, Sea Field View and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Easter Weekend

  1. Jody says:

    It looks and sounds like a wonderful day! I love the smell of fresh air dried laundry too. Plus it’s so pretty swaying in the breeze and sunlight!

Leave a Reply

