The Gook

20131114_122945

Cornwall seems to have a great amount of beach shacks and cafes that produce excellent local food that you can eat whilst drinking in the views.

20131114_123009

Portwrinkle lies at the western end of Whitsand Bay, above is the view of the beach at high tide with a view of Rame Head four miles away. The sweep of the bay is spectacular and the Gook, just above the beach, takes it in. Check out the origin of the name here. What the cafe has over other cafes on the bay is the free WiFi, so if like me you work from home a lot then what could be nicer than spending a few hours with your laptop in a cafe like this. A couple of weeks ago, on the day I was there, I had the place to myself, unfortunately the staff seemed oblivious to this and turned the radio up (local radio station alert) and proceeded to spring clean the kitchen, clattering and banging around so any hope of a quiet moment was lost. Shame I could happily have spent time in there with the sun streaming through the windows but went back to the chalet, where the view was equally stunning and I could brew my tea – as I like it!

About Ruth

I am an actor and theatre maker, I moved down to the SW of England 17 years ago with my partner and son. Five years ago we bought a chalet on the Rame Peninsula and are fully embracing life of the cliff.
This entry was posted in home, Sea Field View, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Gook

  1. Jody says:

    It’s amazing where you can get WiFi now! We just visited a sandy beach that was WiFi enabled on Galveston Bay in Texas. I don’t really know if I’d get any work done with these (or those) kinds of views!

Leave a Reply

