Churchtown Nature Reserve

20131031_083028

Many readers of this blog will know that I bang on a lot about this part of Cornwall being called the Forgotten Corner and this map above shows you most of the peninsula with the sprawl of Whitsand Bay on the left, and the maze of rivers and waterways that constitute Plymouth Sound and the River Tamar with its estuaries on the right.

20131030_132710

Mad friend and I took a walk around the Churchtown Farm Nature Reserve, which, if you check the map, is the area south of Saltash following the path of the river Lynher (the river Tamar keeps going north past Saltash). If you ever travel by train from Plymouth into Cornwall you will note that from Saltash to St Germans (follow the black line on the map) you travel across and alongside many tidal inlets. The pic below shows the viaduct for the train crossing Forder lake.

20131030_133358

20131030_132942

As the sign says there were areas left for wildlife and I was particularly taken with large fields of sunflower seed heads, which a few months back must have looked amazing. Note to self, I promise to come back next year and record them in flower.

20131030_135954

Mad friend walks this route often and has a secret hankering to live here and I can see why. Here I had no sense of my bearings at all, I knew that across the water was the urban sprawl of Plymouth and its naval base, yet here I felt in the middle of nowhere and all the more better for it.

20131030_134445

About Ruth

I am an actor and theatre maker, I moved down to the SW of England 17 years ago with my partner and son. Five years ago we bought a chalet on the Rame Peninsula and are fully embracing life of the cliff.
This entry was posted in home, Travel, Whitsand bay and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

