shells

We’ve always enjoyed collecting shells, once at mad friends house on the north coast of Cornwall we found a whole beach of shells, newly washed up and we collected a bag load without causing a dent in the amount. They now sit in a large white bowl

To be honest I’ve never really known what they all are, I just love them and love grouping them together, they are always recognisable from British rock pools and seashore.

But a few months back we were taking our usual weekend walk along the beach when we came across a line of shells washed up along the shoreline. We picked them up, they were in perfect condition but we had never seen these shells previously nor have we since. I checked a couple of websites but still couldn’t identify so I am sticking them on this blog in the hope that someone out there may know what they are. My suspicions are that my new online friend Jodie from this lovely USA blog  may have an idea.

I realise you can’t get a grasp of the size from this but I reckon they are about 2 inches deep.

here’s a glimpse of the insides, apologies for the quality of the photographs, one was taken on my phone and the other on the new camera that replaced the one I waterlogged when I fell in the river Ogmore back in July. Still getting to grips with it.

Anyone who can make out what these last ones are, please feel free to share with me.

About Ruth

I am an actor and theatre maker, I moved down to the SW of England 17 years ago with my partner and son. Five years ago we bought a chalet on the Rame Peninsula and are fully embracing life of the cliff.
This entry was posted in home, Whitsand bay. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to shells

  1. Jody says:

    Ooooh, they’re beautiful! I’m intrigued. Here’s a page with photos of English seashells. Does this help? 🙂

  2. Ruth says:

    thank you Jody I will have fun detecting which ones are my shells

  3. Mama Peril says:

    Ohhhh I always love to walk into your lounge and see the North Cornish shells…..so glad I am your mad friend.

Leave a Reply

