whitsand wildflowers

With all the rain and occasional warm sun the spring wildflowers are coming out in force along the cliff and in the walls along the back lane. The banks are filling out with Red Campion and Stitchwort whilst Alexander is taking over the sides of the roads creating such a wave of lime green that it’s almost acid in colour there’s so much of it. It’s very timely that ‘Sarah Raven’s Wild Flowers’ has come out, there seem to be extracts in every publication at the moment, but it has helped me identify, or remind myself of some of the flowers we get along the coast. Down nearer the beach we get Sea Campion and Thrift on the rocky ledges and I will be out looking for  Sea Kale and Wild Carrot, although the later seems to prefer the North apparently.

back lane

greater stitchwort

red campion

Alexanders in the back lane

The Alexanders are taking over the verges of Military road (the cliff/coast rd)

Later on the honeysuckle will come out and you will get that heady scent as you brush pass it whilst climbing up the cliff, especially at dusk.

fresh honeysuckle sprouting amongst the ivy and nettles

and holding it’s own in a sea of everything else is what my mother called ‘Herb Robert’, a member of the Cranesbill family, I believe, and very hardy. I have some in my garden now because I brought a plant down South from the North and there was a rogue Herb Robert hiding in the plant pot. It has now colonised the garden, but I let it stay as it reminds me of past gardens ‘up North’.

the red stems of Herb Robert

I don’t profess to be an expert on wildflowers and as I said, I’m happy there are books out there to aid identification, so if anyone thinks I’ve got it wrong please leave a message to put me right.

About Ruth

I am an actor and theatre maker, I moved down to the SW of England 17 years ago with my partner and son. Five years ago we bought a chalet on the Rame Peninsula and are fully embracing life of the cliff.
This entry was posted in back lane, home, Whitsand bay. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

